|  Membership Directory  |  Member Login
Join Now!
Join us for Chairman's Lunch { Feb. 7 }
2017 Chair Scott Schwindaman
 Presented by Grant Thornton LLP
Home > Experience Wichita > Moving Here > Government
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Become a Chamber Insider!

Get In Touch With Your Elected Official

As changes in government and legislation occur, it is vitally important for you to voice your opinion. If you have questions or need more information, contact Barby Jobe, Vice President of Government Relations, at (316) 268-1152.

Below you'll find a quick guide to our local, state and federal governments.

Local Government

City of Wichita

The Wichita City Council establishes policy direction for the City by enacting ordinances, laws, policies, adopting the budget, levying taxes, and appointing members to citizen advisory boards and commissions. The seven-member Council is elected to four-year terms on a nonpartisan basis with staggered terms of office. Six Council members are elected by district, and the Mayor is elected at-large.

The Wichita City Council meets Tuesday mornings beginning at 9:00 AM.  Click here to view a map of the City Council districts.

Wichita City Council:
Mayor Jeff Longwell
District 1 Council Member Lavonta Williams

District 2 Council Member Pete Meitzner

District 3 Council Member James Clendenin
District 4 Council Member Jeff Blubaugh
District 5 Council Member Bryan Frye
District 6 Council Member Janet Miller

Sedgwick County

The Sedgwick County Commissioners are elected. They are vested by Kansas state statute with both legislative and administrative powers and duties. Several powers and duties include supervision of county property, organization of townships following statutory procedures, control of the financial affairs of the county, levying of county taxes, construction and maintenance of county roads and bridges, approval of land use and zoning policies for the county, issuance of bonds, awarding of contracts, incorporation of cities and providing a jail, courthouse, office space, and supplies for all county officers and the district court.

The Sedgwick County Board of County Commissioners meets each Wednesday at 9:00 am.  Click here to view a map of the Sedgwick County districts.
Sedgwick County Commission:
1st District Commissioner Dave Unruh
2nd District Commissioner Tim Norton
3rd District Commissioner Karl Peterjohn
4th District Commissioner Richard Ranzau
5th District Commissioner James Skelton

State Government

Although Wichita is the largest city in Kansas, Topeka is the state's Capital. The State Legislature meets for their legislative session every January through March.

Click here to view a complete listing of the South Central Kansas delegation.

Federal Government


You are allowed to vote in Kansas at the age of 18. To register, you can obtain a form at most local banks, libraries, schools and government offices. Additionally, the opportunity to register is presented to all those renewing a driver's license and also to those applying for public assistance. For more information on voting and registration click here.

Section Highlights:
  • Wichita is ranked No. 10  for best cities for new college grads in 2016.
  • Wichita boasts an average commute time of 18.7 minutes.
  • The median sales price for an existing single-family home in the Wichita metro area was $127,000 in the first quarter of 2016 according to the National Association of Realtors.
  • Wichita is home to 40 museums and galleries.