|  Membership Directory  |  Member Login
Join Now!
Join us for Chairman's Lunch { Feb. 7 }
2017 Chair Scott Schwindaman
 Presented by Grant Thornton LLP
Home > Government Relations > Elected Officials > Local
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Become a Chamber Insider!

Local Government


The Wichita City Council establishes policy direction for the City by enacting ordinances, laws, policies, adopting the budget, levying taxes, and appointing members to citizen advisory boards and commissions. The seven-member Council is elected to four-year terms on a nonpartisan basis with staggered terms of office. Six Council members are elected by district, and the Mayor is elected at-large.

The Wichita City Council meets Tuesday mornings beginning at 9:00 AM. Click here to view a map of the City Council districts.  Council members welcome your questions and your input and questions. The phone number for City Council is 316-268-4331, where you can leave a voicemail. You may also reach them by email or Twitter:

Wichita City Council:
Mayor Jeff Longwell or @jefflongwellict
District 1 Council Member Lavonta Williams 
District 2 Council Member Pete Meitzner or @petemeitzner
District 3 Council Member James Clendenin or @jamieclen
District 4 Council Member Jeff Blubaugh or @JeffBlubaugh
District 5 Council Member Bryan Frye
District 6 Council Member Janet Miller


The Sedgwick County Commissioners are elected. They are vested by Kansas state statute with both legislative and administrative powers and duties. Several powers and duties include supervision of county property, organization of townships following statutory procedures, control of the financial affairs of the county, levying of county taxes, construction and maintenance of county roads and bridges, approval of land use and zoning policies for the county, issuance of bonds, awarding of contracts, incorporation of cities and providing a jail, courthouse, office space, and supplies for all county officers and the district court.

The Sedgwick County Board of County Commissioners meets each Wednesday at 9:00 am. Click here to confirm your district and your representative. Commissioners welcome your questions and your input and questions. The phone number for all Commissioners is 316-660-9300, where you can leave a voicemail. You may also reach them by email or Twitter:

Sedgwick County Commission:
1st District Commissioner Dave Unruh or @DaveUnruhSedgCo
2nd District Commissioner Tim Norton or @TimNortonSC
3rd District Commissioner Karl Peterjohn or @KarlPeterjohn
4th District Commissioner Richard Ranzau
5th District Commissioner Jim Howell or @Howell4KS



USD 259 is the largest district between the Mississippi River and Denver, and Dallas and the Canadian border. The district has 49,146 students and is comprised of 56 elementary schools, 16 middle schools, 2 K-8 schools, 11 high schools and 16 other special programs. USD 259 is the fourth largest employer in the Wichita MSA with an annual budget of $605 million. The work of Wichita Public Schools is to empower all students with the 21st century skills and knowledge necessary for success by providing a coherent, rigorous, safe and nurturing, culturally responsive, and inclusive learning community.

The Board of Education holds its regular meetings on the second and fourth Mondays of the month at 6 p.m. For exceptions, please see the BOE Meeting Calendar. Regular Board meetings are held at the North High Lecture Hall, 1437 Rochester, in the historic midtown area of Wichita.

District 1 Member Betty Arnold
District 2 Member Joy Eakins
District 3 Member Barbara Fuller
District 4 Member Jeff Davis
District 5 Member Mike Rodee
District 6 Member Lynn W. Rogers
At-Large Member Sheril Logan

Section Highlights:
  • Check the Friends of McConnell Facebook page to learn more about the important role the Base plays in Wichita's economy.
  • See the 2015 State Legislative Scorecard on the Bill Tracking page.


Barby Jobe
VP - Government Relations