| |

Honors Night award recipients announced

Posted by: Courtney Sendall on Monday, February 15, 2016
The Wichita Metro Chamber will recognize an outstanding individual, exemplary corporate citizens, exceptional commitments to the community, and striking architectural achievements at the 2016 Honors Night event on April 7. In addition to the Uncommon Citizen, Spirit of Wichita, Over the Years and Keeper of the Plains awards, the Ad Astra award will be given for only the third time in the history of the program. The 2016 award recipients are as follows: Pauly, Marilyn_cropEstablished in 1974, the Uncommon Citizen is the Chamber’s most prestigious individual award. It recognizes those who, by their individual efforts year after year, have made uncommon contributions to the people and institutions of Wichita and the surrounding area. Recipients are honored not only for their role in business but for their participation in cultural, civic, social and philanthropic activities. This year’s recipient is Marilyn Pauly, Vice Chairman of Commerce Bank. The recipient of the Spirit of Wichita award is McConnell Air Force Base. Established in 2002, The Spirit of Wichita Award recognizes businesses or not-for-profit organizations that have previously been given the Over the Years award. The organization’s culture must be basically the same as when it received the Over the Years Award a minimum of 20 years ago with employment, leadership, innovation and community involvement continuing to be strong. The three recipients of the Over the Years award are: High Touch Technologies; Starkey Inc.; and Spirit AeroSystems, Inc. The Over the Years Award recognizes businesses and institutions with long-standing performances as good corporate citizens and major contributors to the community’s economic well-being; displaying leadership, innovation and community involvement. The recipient of the Keeper of the Plains award is Kansas Leadership Center. The Keeper of the Plains Award recognizes an outstanding architectural achievement completed by a firm, organization or individual, which has contributed to the beauty of our community. The recipient of the Ad Astra award is Wichita Dwight D. Eisenhower National Airport. Created in 2001, the Ad Astra award honors outstanding achievements in the community that are worthy and deserving of recognition, but which aren’t necessarily aligned with any of the awards already established. This is only the third time the award will be given, following Exploration Place in 2001 and INTRUST Bank Arena in 2011. “Each award is bestowed in recognition of a unique contribution to the enhancement of our community,” said Gary Plummer, Chamber President and CEO. “This year’s Honors Night committee thought it was fitting to not only name recipients for our annual awards, but also to recognize the landmark achievement of our city’s new airport with the Ad Astra award. Please join us in congratulating all of our award recipients.” Honors Night 2016 is presented by Metro Courier, Inc. and will be held at 6 p.m. on Thursday, April 7 at Beech Activity Center, 9710 E. Central. Tickets are now available for $90 per person or $720 for a table of eight and can be purchased online at wichitachamber.org/HonorsNight. Formal invitations will be sent to Chamber members, but the general public is also invited to attend. Sponsorships are still available. Contact Rachel Groene at 268-1127 for more information.
Posted in


0 comments on "Honors Night award recipients announced"

Leave a Comment

Back to top